My Programming Journey- Part I

ยท

5 min read

Just an Introduction

So well this is my first blog post and I just thought I should start with how I really got started rather than some coding tutorials or some how to do stuffs. Well, I really thought how much I could do with this blog but I know for sure that I love to make stories, chat for a very long time and give my opinion behind my keyboard about some real stuffs. But getting about what to write here as my first blog post was a big problem.

After too much consideration about what will make it here: I finally thought that I will share my experience on how I turned the PRO that I am today from an absolute beginner. Enough of all the introduction; get your pop corns and a pet drink and let me tell you about my story.

Failed Projects

Well back then and now I really loved programmers and developers and see them as the GOAT (Not only programmers but people who can do things that I cannot do). I am more about: How wish I could build something the world is going to love, appreciate or something people can actually use but deep down me I always feel like: I am not gifted to be like these people (weird feeling, but that was how I actually feel). Like, you guys can agree with me: How do you ever think you can be like these people when you don't even know how to start to becoming them?

So you remembered the part I told you guys: "I don't even know how to start becoming them?"; Well, I was given the opportunity to actually learn programming during level 100 in my university days and kick start my career but there was no guidance, no mentor, no counsellor and nobody to tell me what to do or how to start or if even programming is my thing: The boot camp was kind of expensive and there was no funds and support. Opportunity slide out and boom I never attended it and continue to focus on the physics I was doing in school.

At around 2018, I was sliding through post on twitter and checking people's profile and I saw that almost everyone have something doing or how they are actually contributing to the society and then one thought came into my mind:

Everyone have something doing either a business or a skill. Everyone are actually contributing to the society and here you are sitting and doing nothing: I think this is high time you start doing something with your life.

That piece of quote above was what my mind kept haunting me everyday and I decided I should really do something with my life. Then I built my first blog just to talk about some topics and I wasn't doing it for money but just so that I can contribute something to the society. Apart from blogging: I started checking out tutorials about phone photography and if I can venture into that: but still ran into problems and have to stop the business as I don't even have a very good mobile device with a good camera to do much but I did create some magic though ๐Ÿ˜ƒ you can check my instagram profile here.

Just 2018: I have started and closed 2 businesses but I actually created and launch a third business: Abgolor Concept which was just a social media online sales platform and I recorded huge sales. I was like I have finally started something that can give me more money and I was very happy. Sales became too much and I was thinking of how I can move this website online and allow users start placing orders by themselves and all I just have to do is contact my sellers about the product and change the status of customer's order accordingly. That was when I contacted a website developer to help me build an e-commerce website and he said his charges was N150,000.00K ($420) at that time but things wasn't as easy then so I bargained that I will pay him N50,000.00K ($140) and guessed what the guy said to me:

I know you are a startup and it is really not easy for you. One thing is I don't like building for startups and I am only doing this because you appreciate tech in your business. If you want to build anything Abraham: you can do it. You can code your website yourself and pay yourself N50,000.00K($140).

That was when I actually got to challenge myself that I can build my e-commerce website myself. I found out a blog on how to build an ecommerce website and with time I said to myself that this thing is not as hard as it should be. I bought the domain name, register for wordpress, I was looking for a cheap way to go and I got myself a nulled wordpress woocommerce theme and boom with time I was now building the woocommerce website myself.

Well I think I will have to stop here today and the next part I will tell you guys about the what happened next. My journey is actually long and I know with just these few stuffs I have told you so far you can't wait for the next part and I promise you it won't take long before I release it and it will be worth it.

Please, meanwhile don't forget to follow me on twitter .

ย